My Nurturing Place [Happy 15th, Highlands!]

This is a post I wrote the day I officially became a member of the Highlands family. I am so blessed to be a part of this body of believers. God has changed my life in so many ways through this community and I’m so thankful.

Today is the 15th anniversary of this unified body and we are celebrating what God has done in our lives and in our community so far. 

Not to us, Lord, not to us but to Your name be the glory, because of Your love and faithfulness. – Psalm 115:1

May we always remember that the church is for the unchurched, the outcome is produced by God’s power alone, and that we are a church of spiritual next steps.

The best is yet to come! 

+ + + + +

September 7, 2014

I sat in a seat in the theater along with probably 60 other people. I listened to my pastor of three years tell the story one more time. The story of the church, his story, the story of how it all started. I know the words by heart and I sing them like a melody in my mind.

The chorus is the outcome- people like me. People that grow, people that are nurtured, people that find Christ in their every breath because of the life given by the culture God has set in this place. People that look forward to going to church the next time as soon as the service is over because they know that the Father will come too.

I filled out a simple form- something that to the bare eye seems like house-keeping or like paperwork, which it was. But to me it was an act of obedience to my Father. To me it meant that now the corporate flooring somehow seemed like fluffy carpet, the coffee stations like a warm welcoming home, and the smiling faces like family.

I am home.

Share any questions or comments here!

