Put On Love

Being a senior in college has made me feel all kinds of weird.

There’s this constant tug-of-war going on between Casual Taylor and Professional Taylor, the Taylor that chats with you here and the Taylor that nervously updates her resume on LinkedIn.

It’s had me thinking lately about how many different sides of me there are and how many different things I am to people.

Some of you know me personally. I am a friend, a sister, a daughter, a niece, a girlfriend, a mentor, a granddaughter. Others know me professionally. I am a student, a peer, a classmate, a blogger on Social Steeples. And then there are those of you who don’t know me from Adam. I’m a writer of a blog on the internet, a girl in a far away place that’s weird and likes coffee too much.

I asked myself a question last week and I want to extend it to you.

In all ways I am known by others, how can I glorify God?

In all areas of relationship with people, how can I extend the love of God, use the gifts He’s given me to bless others, and be intentional with the people He’s surrounded me with in order to be faithful in keeping an eternal perspective?

To further that question, what relationships in your life right now do you need to go deeper in? Is there a person God has put on your heart to offer encouragement to or to bless in some way? Who can you reach out to, ask for coffee, bring a treat, write a letter, give a kind word?

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience…And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. -Colossians 3:12-15 (ESV, emphasis mine)

This is a short thought for your Monday, but I encourage you to challenge yourself as I have with this question. God has put the people you have in your path for a reason.

This week, let’s choose to put on love each morning, and to be intentional with the people around us.

Share any questions or comments here!

