When a Heart Breaks

I’m in a time in my life right now that’s so happy.

Are things perfect? Of course not. I have the occasional fear of the future and aggravation of school work when all I want to do is be with my people in the time I’ve got left and the list goes on and on.

But I’m so happy in this pretty little moment I’m in. It’s cozy but stretching. It requires a lot of me and a lot of trust in God, but is rewarding.

But if you want to know something that may not be seen so clearly from the outside, it took a lot to get here.

photo-1434973539530-5538b4681aac

Everyone has a story and I believe everyone should tell it. The happy, the sad, the growing, the hurt, and the redemption.

I feel like I’m in that redemption phase. I don’t know how long it’ll last, but I’m enjoying it. But please hear me when I say that just because I’m not in a current place of hurt, doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten what it feels like. I don’t think I ever will.

I’ve got some friends that are hurting right now. They’re popping up everywhere in my life all with the same problem: break-ups.

+ + + + +

I remember it like it was yesterday. I was a 15-year-old girl sitting on the curb outside my house. My relationship and my normal was over and I felt alone. Empty. Scared. Embarrassed. Bare. Burdened.

I remember thinking that God had a better plan, a better story for me. I knew it in my head, but I didn’t believe it in my heart. Call it dramatic and call it ignorant and immature, but I was incredibly heartbroken.

That was about 4 and a half years ago. I dealt with it a lot past that spring day, into my college years. But I cannot even tell you just how much God used that relationship and the end of it to teach me about grace and forgiveness and love. I get chill bumps even thinking of it now.

Like the loving and beautiful Father He is, He took me up in His arms and strengthened me again. He gave me an identity in Him. He showed me what real Love looks like, what It does, how It acts. He took me on a journey of growth, showed me my purpose in singleness and in life after school. He took me from a relationship I thought was good and showed me why it wasn’t over time and I praise Him evermore for it. He put the life back in me and gave me a community of people that was hurt in the same area so we could encourage each other.

Hey friend that’s hurting? He’ll do that for you too. But you have to give it to Him. There is life on the other side of this pain. Surrender it to Him, and you’ll see.

Know that He is close. Take captive every thought and abolish the lies with His truth. Repeat in your heart that He bears your burdens with you and He is close to the brokenhearted.

Share any questions or comments here!

