So You’re Afraid

I can’t even count on my fingers how many things I’m afraid of.

Some of them are small, while some of them are big – and more often than not I have a hard time distinguishing whether they’re actually small and I’m making them too big or not. Because if you haven’t figured it out already, I’m a worrier.

So let’s take a moment and talk about some specifically, because maybe I’m not the only one with some of these.

Here are just a few of the fears I have that affect me on any given day:

  1. fear of failure
  2. fear of trusting people
  3. fear of people under my car
  4. fear of not doing the right thing
  5. fear of being stuck somewhere
  6. fear of fear

I listed the first two at the top because those have been on my mind most prominently this week.

Whether it’s grades or relationships or postgrad or life in general, I’m afraid to fail. Mostly because I know me and I know my weaknesses and shortcomings.

The second one, the fear of trusting people, is essentially the fear of other people failing. This is one of my big ones because, like everyone else, I’ve been a victim of this. It’s a huge part of my story and my life growth. Have I forgiven those who have failed me? Yes. But it still haunts me and invades my view of the future.

It raises questions in my mind and gives me the expectation that people are going to fail me.

Maybe you’ve got this too? Maybe you also feel like you can’t get over the fear of people failing you and it keeps you from trusting people. Let me say something to ya: you’re not alone.

Fear is strangling, binding, consuming. It distracts, tightens, and grips our hearts and our minds.

I’ve found the best way to battle fear is to replace the fear-thoughts with the freedom-thoughts.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT)

Let’s ask the Lord to help us have a sound mind and the self-discipline to take captive every thought that goes against His promise of freedom. Let’s not be timid to approach the things we find scary, because our God is bigger than even those.

Share any questions or comments here!

