Be Still

I don’t mean to downplay the struggles of other ages, but being 20 is hard.

With school and the pressure to perform and time management and getting relationships to work, it’s just a lot. This week is hitting me hard with failing at people’s expectations and being in the moment (but at the same time being intentional about the future…because *hello* that’s coming soon).

My heart searches for reasons to worry and my mind is overcome with stress. And I’m exhausted on this dreary Monday.

I look at my planner and see evidence of the attempt to manage my time and my relationships correctly. A coffee date here, a study date there. A trip home and small group. Yet I feel as if it’s still not enough. I look around and I still see people I need to be spending time with and pouring into. I still see things that need to be done and friends who are struggling with bigger things than I who I want to be serving.

I see the lasts and the precious opportunities to be here when my mind is tons of places at once. It’s a blessing to be wanted in all those places and to have places at all, but it’s a struggle when you can’t seem to figure out when to be where.

And as I feel the pressure to collide the worlds of school, home, and sanity, I forget all about the cruciality of being still before the Father that holds it all in His hand.

bestill

I’m starting out this week by taking time to do that. To just sit and be in His presence and worship Him for who He is despite who I am.

Do I have other things to get done? Yes. But what in the world could be more important than investing time into my relationship with Jesus?

Take the time today, friend. Close the books and shut down the electronics. Pull out paper and a pen and write to Him, sing to Him, be with Him, talk to Him, listen to Him. He’s waiting for me and for you with open arms this morning, ready to show us His love and grace.

I want to share with you a few verses that I’m reading today:

I love the LORD because he hears my voice
and my prayer for mercy.
Because he bends down to listen,
I will pray as long as I have breath!

-Psalm 116:1-2 (NLT, emphasis mine)

+ + + + +

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

-2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV, emphasis mine)

+ + + + + 

Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens.

-Psalm 68:19 (NIV, emphasis mine)

He bears our burdens daily. Read that again and again, friend, because it’s such a beautiful truth. Let it encourage your heart today. The God of the whole universe. Bearing my burdens, bearing your burdens, for us. Wows me every time.

Will you take some time to be still today? Allow the Lord a piece of your day to love you through His still small voice. Let Him give you strength and peace. He knows what you need before you even ask.

9 thoughts on “Be Still

Share any questions or comments here!

