On Senior Year

This morning I stood alone in my quiet kitchen cooking my lunch when all of the sudden I felt eight feet tall. And by that I mean all grown up.

As I chopped up tomatoes, I couldn’t help but to ponder where I am right now. Maybe that’s completely dramatic and teenager-y of me (and I can only say that for 9 more days people), but as I’ve said before, I’m not good at dealing with change and the end of chapters.

And sure, I felt a bit this way when I was beginning my end of high school, but this bittersweetness that I’m dealing with right now is serious business.

It’s the beginning to the end of so many things that feel like home. 

Samford isn’t just the place where I’m getting my education or where I’ve taken tests and submitted papers. It’s the place where I’ve grown up and found my people and broadened my knowledge of coffee drinks.

IMG_1364

So I’m sad. But I’m also excited. Because for the next two semesters I get to check fun things off my bucket list and be with my people and go to all the coffee shops I haven’t been to all while growing more than I have already.

IMG_1263

And it all comes back to this: when everything feels like it’s a last and change creeps up more and more each day, my God is constant. He is the same and loves me just as much today as yesterday. He is still good. He is still enough. He is still my strength and my peace. Today I’m resting in that.

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

James 1:17

4 thoughts on “On Senior Year

Share any questions or comments here!

