wrist words :: abide

Things I’ve been reminded of since summer started:

1. Blueberry coffee is the best thing.

2. Quiet time is inevitably harder to manage and routinely practice when you live with 4 people who search for you every hour (a blessing and a curse).

3. Boys are very strange.

4. The devil’s lies don’t back down. Like ever. Especially when I take baby steps toward God’s calling.

5. My home church family is special.

6. I love being alone for long amounts of time… My new upstairs “apartment” has helped with that. 

7. Letting too much social media and media in general into this heart and head of mine isn’t good news.

8. I need Jesus. And then more and more.

9. A two hour Skype call with a friend can go a long way.

10. Being home calls for a whole different level of self-discipline when it comes to keeping my heart and mind focused on Jesus — when it comes to abiding. IMG_2613 Abide. Sometimes when I want to remember something or deem it important to keep in the forefront of my mind, I find a pen and ink it on my wrist. This word came about as I was scrolling through social media and landed on this verse:

“Abide in me, and I in you.” – John 15:4

I began to ask myself if I’ve been abiding this summer. Have I been really seeking Him? And what does it really mean to abide anyway?

Dictionary.com says abide means to remain, to continue, to stay, to wait for.

There are some things going on in my life this summer that came out of nowhere and that I definitely didn’t expect. They’re good things, but sometimes they can be distracting as anything can. This is why I need this reminder right in front of my face.

Because when summer comes to an end, I want to be able to look back and see that my time wasn’t wasted no matter the outcome of the little journeys. I want to be able to go back to school closer to Jesus than I was before.

For today, abiding looks like being still after a long weekend and thanking Him for the little things. It looks like soaking in the Word as truth. It looks like fellowshipping for a couple hours over video chat with a dear sister in Christ and listening and learning from her strength and wisdom. It looks like remembering I’m along for His ride and that when conversations are hard, He’s fighting for me. It looks like finding joy in Him in a good cup of coffee and taking the time to sit on my front porch and enjoy the sunshine He’s given us today.

What does abiding look like for you this summer?

Feel free to share in the comments what may help you to remember to wait on the Lord and to seek His face each day.

Share any questions or comments here!

